I STAYED

all morning resting at the balcony, reading my book, Vanity Fair by W.M. Thackeray. My first time. And I love it. I have since I started reading seen the movie with Myrna Loy made in 1932, where almost nothing of the original plot is kept.
The richness of the language, the scepticism of Thackeray, it is amazing to follow his insights of the community at the beginnings of the 19th century,
After lunch I cycled to the Heempark, with my oats. But the swans I was informed had come by but had sailed away to the other side of the road.
I followed the heron in her doings, she seemed to swim at first in the water, and sometimes climbed upon a branch that lay in the water. At such a moment she spread her wings.

My haiku:

She was young expected
To find her way through the world
Fishing here and there

And the quote by Maurice Materlinck in Wisdom and Destiny:

The true sage is not he who sees, but he who, seeing the furthest, has the deepest love for mankind.

I could write here about the relation of Georgette Leblanc and Materlinck and then one would be surprised as how she saw the great poet through his actions.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.