A moment of grace

There are precious few places to stop on the way home, but the golden afternoon light compelled me to pull in as my eye was being drawn by the fields on the other side of the road. When I got back to the car, I could see animals in the distance and I thought I might be able to get a bit closer. Fortunately, the field gate I'd parked by only blocked vehicular access.

I stuck to the grass and woodland edge of the field and I counted myself lucky to get this shot. I've only ever seen hares once or twice in the distance but this evening they were coming out to play.

I stood for quite a while watching them, when a nearby rustling made me look around. A hare had come out from the trees about ten feet and it was sitting and feeding quite calmly. I didn't dare move my feet for fear of disturbing it, but twisted round to try and get a few shots. This is the best of them.

Once it had moved off, I continued to watch the hares in the distance and I was also treated to this glorious sunset.

It just goes to show what you can see if you stay still and watch for a while.

I did play around with various titles for this, including 'Hare Today...' but it seemed a bit inappropriate really...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.