An Avid Lensman

By SarumStroller

The Minister for Children...

OK, not really...

...actually Sean, lead singer of punk metal band Bamboo Vipers, who hail from Lymington. A tiny pub back room, very late, very poorly and dimly lit, as far cry from Salisbury Arts Centre's The Altar Club as can be possible.

But that is how I described him in this picture which amused many. I was half-kneeling underneath him, shooting wide open at f1.4, manual focus and manual exposure. The rest of the band weren't photographable - either in total shadow or behind each other, behind giant speakers or with their backs turned...The drummer was half naked and soaked with perspiration. Now, now, don't mention that Minister, please...!

Out in the beer garden after the gig, I chatted with the bass player and someone else - and er, someone else, who played with them but whom I didn't recognise now that I could actually see him. And a few of their friends, including a chap who always took their pictures but couldn't today - well, found it technically very challenging and had to resort to flash.

A gaggle of female fans walked past, dressed in black goth/punk outfits, bits of flesh overspilling out with LOTS of tattoos. Bassist says 'Good thing I remembered to spray on the groupie repellent.' The other band member said 'Basic genetics takes care of that!' Excellent! so succinctly put.

Showed this one on the camera to Sean, as I left.

"Don't I look fat in that!" That was all he said...

Lens is Nippon Koguka (pre-Nikon) 35mm f1.4

What a great start to the weekend!

DERELICT CHALLENGE Week #3

Fifty-eight entries. Up 20% over previous week.

Results

Favourite I felt this was superbly photographed and beautifully processed and a subject that many would probably try but not try properly, if you know what I mean.

Runner Up I loved both the neat composition and textures here. A common subject but interesting and beautifully done, the lighting and subdued colours make it.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.