WhatTheJules

By WhatTheJules

Happy Birthday Little Girl

Kelsey Grace, now 22.
At 22 she is ½ my age and her age is twice her 11 lb (1 oz) birth weight.
I am at her party now, sitting alone in the backyard and observing the twenty-something's as they enjoy beer, rum and coke, and even a mason jar of moonshine.
Soon they will watch "The Empire Strikes Back", the only good Star Wars movie, so say these self-proclaimed "Geeks".
I look at this photo, I think of the conversations that Kelsey and I have had lately; were it not for a bottle of dye and some very high heels, we are the same.
I recently blogged about this at whatthejules.com.
A sensitive, empathetic girl prone to anxiety over the feelings of others.
She is beautiful, she is brilliant.
The brightest star.
My baby.
Drinking a beer.
"Have some protein!"
"I know Mom, I've done this before!"
Oh that's right, she knows everything!
Almost.
Happy Birthday, Mini Me.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.