At the seaside

After four hours of reading agenda papers, I took a break with a run to Algies Bay, and then back along the foreshore. Most of the birds were more sensible than me, as the wind was strong and cold and squalls of rain hit every 10 - 20 minutes. Having seen very few birds, between Algies and Southend, Snells Beach, I decided to backtrack to our beach.

There was where I saw this little Welcome Swallow ; sitting on a large rock, which is normally immersed at high tide, and enjoying the warmth of the spring sunshine. That is the water of the Bay behind it.

I also managed to get an in focus photo of an Australasian Gannet circling above the water. This was my preference as these darting little birds are seldom still long enough for me to organise camera and eye adequately.

In my Birds of 2014 I have counted a previous photo (NOT blipped) of a swallow in flight. The eye of faith is required to identify it. This is easily identified as Hirundo tahitica; described as an Abundant Native, it is 15 cm high and weighs just 14 gm.

Another four hours this afternoon.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.