5043 Earl of Mount Edgcumbe storms through Stroud

Sadly the weather forecast turned out to be correct and the month of dry and warm days ended this morning. I had been planning to drive a few miles up the Golden Valley from Stroud to Frampton Mansell, where I could get a countryside view of the steep railway line close to the entrance to the Sapperton Tunnel under the Cotswold hills. But with the rain tipping down a more practical approach seemed sensible as I had to go to a meeting immediately after the train passed by.

I like photographing steam engines, particularly when they are working hard pulling trains full of people, which is what they were designed for. So I ended up choosing to go to Stroud station, which lies at the entrance to the Golden Valley, as at least I could get some protection from the rain and where the train would be approaching at a reasonably fast speed.

The station was already busy with a collection of other photographers, some making videos for Youtube probably, and each of them staking out their 'spot' as we waited for the sound of a whistle indicating the approach of the engine. I walked towards the end of the platform so I would get a relatively uninterrupted view as the train came round the bend. A man came up and stood beside me and asked me if we would hear the train coming. I said that we would and a conversation ensued. When I asked if he lived near by, he said 'No'. He had come by train all the way from Trowbridge in Wiltshire, about fifty miles away, and he didn't have a camera; he just wanted to enjoy the experience of seeing, hearing and smelling the steam engine pass by at an interesting location. After it passed he told me how pleased it was, it was just what he wanted, and he would come back to Stroud again next time a steam excursion was planned.

It was quite dark and dank with the rain falling continuously so my image isn't as vivid as I would like. But like the friendly man, I did enjoy the experience, and I fear we much wait till next year for another one. But hopefully Woodpeckers and I may be lucky and see other notable engine in Cumbria when we drive north to visit her Mum near Oban in three weeks time.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.