bevhumphrey

By bevhumphrey

somewhere over the rainbow

skies are blue.

Despite dreadful forecasts for the day I think we got the worst of the weather in the early morning and we managed about a 7 mile walk up from Grasmere alongside the Langdales, down to Elter Water, through Low Wood ( where we saw red squirrels) and then along the ridges between Rydal Water and Grasmere. We even sat and ate our packed lunch on the "beachside" of Grasmere in glorious sunshine but nippy cold winds! As we walked back around Grasmere it rained heavily again.....then for the last mile or so the sun came out stronger than ever and there was an amazing rainbow. This is taken as it moves across what I think is Heron Pike from the map but I'm not sure! 4 of the group I am walking with are German and have never been to England before, so it was great to see their reactions to the changing landscapes and colours.
I could only use my little compact today as I think I have got something...maybe just moisture in the lens of my SLR and the zoom mechanism just isn't working right....anyway this is much much lighter to carry and to easy to whiz in and out of a pocket in the rain!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.