Dublin Shooter

By dublinshooter

Hands across the Blogosphere

Before I discovered Blipfoto, I began another photoblog over at Shutterchance.com, which has been up and running since the beginning of March. There's a good community spirit over there as well, and one of my 'buddies' whose posts I check regularly and who in turn comments regularly on mine is Ginnie. It was through her that I found her sister Ruth's photoblog (it's called Flying, and I nominated it over at the Photoblog Awards -- if you like it, why not vote for it?).

I really admire Ruth's work, and regularly check out her photoblog and leave comments there. She in turn found my Shutterchance photoblog and drops in for a look from time to time. It was through one of her comments that I learned she was coming to Ireland, taking 30 students on a study-abroad trip for the Michigan university where she works. I suggested we meet, we firmed things up over the past couple of weeks, and we met today.

We had a pleasant chat over lunch in a rather quaint old-fashioned café I mentioned before. We parted company outside the Gaiety Theatre, where Ruth was buying tickets for the Riverdance show for Thursday night. This is a snap I took of her across the road from the theatre. (I didn't realise until I saw the photo on my iMac that that silly woman with the red shoes was passing behind her, spoiling things, and I rather stupidly had only taken the one shot.)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.