SilverImages

By SilverImages

"Trust thyself: every heart vibrates to that iron string. Accept the place the divine providence has found for you, the society of your contemporaries, the connection of events."
Ralph Waldo Emerson


After a slow start to the day and a Meditation that turned into a doze I headed off on an exploration of the dunes around the Northern part of the island.  The area has been recommended by a few people, and the day is mostly cloudy but dry, and about as warm as I'd expect for this time of year.

In the half a mile or so to the end of the lane I pass a few groups of people, maybe a dozen.  After that I only see a few people away in the distance for the next three hours.  The dunes end abruptly in stacked shelves of rock forming a cliff at the northern end of the island.  A wander along the beach, which is mixed shelves of rock, shingle and then an enormous expanse of sand takes me North along the peninsula.  The steady rhythm of the tide and the light breeze creates a background murmur, broken by the small flocks of Curlew and Oystercatchers that feed along the shoreline.  There are other flocks of smaller waders skimming the surface of the sea, too far away for me to make out.

I'm aware that the tide is coming in, but there are acres of beach left [although I can see the high tide mark which doesn't leave much room] and eventually I make my way up onto the dunes, mainly to find the causeway on the other side somewhere.  It's getting near the end of the "safe crossing" limit, so I'm assuming the water will be approaching the causeway.  Surprisingly it still looks quite far away, so I decide to go down and get a few photos, then follow the causeway back to the village.  No signs of any traffic either way, so the water is probably already quite deep at the other end of the causeway and the bridge across to the mainland.  There are some large pools of water on the landward side of the causeway so there'll be a lot more water covering the area I'm in at high tide - so I don't hang about.  It's about a 20 minute walk back to the end of the causeway and I reach it just as the seawater reaches the edge of the tarmac.  It'll be over it soon.  

A brief Meditation at St Aidans Church in the village then back to the cottage for a meal, shower and bed.  All that fresh air is quite tiring.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.