Mostly Six Five Oh

By nhc

The well loved cookbook

This morning we spent some time perusing our cookbooks for ideas, I want to add some new recipes to our regular rotation as I've been getting a bit bored.

This cookbook was my grandmother's, then my mother's, now mine. It's a first edition (1950) of Elizabeth David's Mediterranean Food. As you can see, it's well loved and well used, this page with the Gazpacho recipe was a favorite and I remember my mother making it, particularly for dinner parties. The newspaper cutting peeking out on the right doesn't have a date, it's titled 'How US Doctors Bleed The Government' an investigation of fraud and abuse of Medicaid by participating physicians, I googled the names in the article and found the report by Senator Frank Moss from 1976. I wonder why my grandmother had cut this out, there are no notes on it.

82ºF/28ºC

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.