Distant Snow

The end of June was the last time I walked on the Wither Hills in the early morning. I can hardly believe it was all that time ago. Over the last few months I have been concentrating on walking the dogs in the early hours rather than going up on the hills. We are not allowed to take dogs into the Wither Hills Farm Park because it is a working farm with various stock grazing the hills.
I walk good distances with the dogs but it is flat going and so I don’t get the workout that I would get on the hills.
The dawn sky was unspectacular this morning but once the sun rose the light was rather nice. I captured some views of the very distant St Arnaud Range which has had a decent fall of snow in the last two days. The Rainbow Skifield is in the St Arnaud Range and friends who are skiers are delighted with the spring snow conditions.
The hills in the foreground are those of Meadowbank Station. They are looking quite green at the moment but as the weather warms up they will turn to their characteristic summer browns and golds.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.