Birsay coast

Today My Love siphoned off the elderflower champagne and also made up another vat of red wine. Getting down to the last 3 demijohns of wine has been making us a little twitchy!

I tried out my kayak in the bay at the bottom of the garden and it paddles well. Quite quick too. The dogs were a bit worried I was off adventuring without them and initially tried to follow me.

After lunch it was a trip to Birsay, another lovely walk on some not so high cliffs...Which is lucky as Sigyn the NobHead pushed Talisker off the edge at one point. It was still some height but could have been a lot worse...and he seems relatively unscathed from it. The coastline from Birsay I find really interesting. The rock layers bend and twist and turn and there are lots of sheltered bays where the seals often play. To the right of this shot you can see part of a very long, wide, black basalt strip. It runs some distance before ducking into the depths of the sea.

It's been a good day and tomorrow is my first day at new work :)


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.