The Way I See Things

By JDO

Kniphofia

I used to love 'red hot pokers' when I was a child; but if I'm honest, since I attained middle age I've tended to think of them as rather déclassé. There was one in this garden when we bought the house, but the hard winter of 2010-11 carried it off and I didn't bother replacing it. But when I saw this one, which is called 'Safranvogel', I was charmed by its cream-through-coral shading and bought it on the spot.

A couple of days on, and before I've even decided where to plant it, it's looking delicate in more than just its colouring: the way it's reclining is putting me in mind of one of Frederick Leighton's more neurasthenic ladies - Flaming June perhaps, or possibly Iphigenia. I shall have to give it something to lean against - a wall at least, if I can't find a chaise longue.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.