Silvery Threads

Here I am with my piece called Lunar Lit Woodland at the Costume and Textile Association 25th anniversary exhibition. I cried when I saw this hanging. it looked so beautiful, the lighting was amazing. Every silvery thread and bead glistened. I am so proud to be part of this stunning exhibition.

I was chatting to one of the organisers and she told me they had had 150 entries, of which 64 were selected by a panel of 3 judges. There was quite a few birch tree inspired pieces but only 2 got through - mine being one of them. She told me that they hung all the pieces then brought in the lighting, hence the lighting being so amazing. It felt like an art gallery. The exhibition is just before the entrance to Norwich Cathedral so everyone that goes there will see our exhibition.

I went to the Pamela Clabburn lecture which was an interesting subject but delivery was a tad laboured, and it was warm and post lunch so it was a bit of a struggle. After that I went to the private viewing with wine and nibbles. This was very exciting as people walked around and discussed the pieces. I chatted to 2 ladies who commented that I had even removed stitches - oh yes I wanted to add extra texture on the tree trunks, I said. I omitted to say that was where the bobbin ran out and left needle marks in the trunk!

Had a lovely day, a big thank you to M & M for taking me. xx

Once home mad dash on our bikes across to Farcet via a very dark muddy track to M's party. Wow what a great day!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.