a town called E.

By Eej

Saving Miss Goldfinch

There was such a wild rumpus in the back of the backyard I didn't hear a thing - but after all the fun when I walked up the porch steps I spotted a wee thing on its back on one of those steps.
A little Goldfinch.
There have been two other incidents with the windows of the sun room. If the sun hits them just right (or wrong, really) it seems some birds mistake the reflections for more sky. I thought we had fixed it, but the tiny feather stuck to the window proved I was wrong. Poor baby.
I picked it up to keep her safe, and we sat down in the sun. Me hoping it was just stunned and the bird breathing heavily.
After 10 minutes she opened her eyes.
I almost cried.
Five minutes later she started to move her head. "Hello!" I said, "I think you might be okay!"
So I stopped being all sad and planning a funeral and decided I'd to try to go inside and yell at the Beloved to come take a photo - while at the same time not alarming the bird. Turns out she was fine with me yelling; Tyra's meowing however did not go over too well. Miss G. decided to use her legs as soon as she heard her - and when I opened my hands as we stepped outside again, she hopped on my finger.
The Beloved took some photos, we sat down in the sun again and a few minutes later, she flew off. A little shaky at first, but then with strong beats - all the way up into the tree.
Such happiness :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.