PirkkoM

By PirkkoM

Wait for me! - Odottakaa minua!

A year ago, when I retired, I got a Chocolate Massage Voucher as a gift from my colleagues. Now it was the last moments to use it and the big day was today. It was absolutely wonderful, so relaxing although had to drive 140 kilometres there and back. When I was driving back home, I suddenly noticed hundreds of whooper swans and other birds at the Nissilänjärvi Lake in Kuusamo. The swans are now getting together for their journey to the south. I am going to miss these beautiful birds. Have photographed them almost every day since they came here in April and May.

Have to write here some verses of a very famous poem by one of the most beloved poet, Eino Leino. Translation by Matti Naskali.

Summer in Lapland
...
Oh, Swan the white bird, guest for summer, resting,
You Urge, Desire, Spirit of the mind
Please come to Lapland and stay here for nesting
though you will leave for warmer place to find.

Look at the white birds my friend, look for learning,
they leave in autumn, they come back in spring.
Here it is peaceful, safe for their returning
here is the place the summer birds to sing.

Go out the world and spread your wings for flying,
make there your duty and the word reborn.
But when the winter´s gone and spring is coming,
I pray you, and I beg you: please return.


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.