Simply Me

By Suze981

A day full of appointments

Today has been a day of appointments including a foot doctor, an eye doctor and a regular doctor.

First up, back to Astley Ainslie Hospital to pick up my custom orthotics. You can see them on the left of this picture. They're quite boring to look at, black moulded plastic! Hopefully they'll sort me out, but I think it'll take longer than I originally thought...they're going to rub...

They also gave me the plaster casts (also pictured) used to make them. I have to keep them in case something happens and the orthotics need to be re-cast. Apparently they'll only last 2 years anyway and I'll need to get them re-cast then.

Second up, I had an opticians appointment to try and pinpoint the source of my headaches. Turns out my prescription has changed, but not significantly enough to cause them. Excitingly, I am now trialling new silicone lenses.

Thirdly, I went to Run and Become on Queensferry Street to buy new trainers. My podiatrist told me that my old ones simply won't work with my current trainers. After trying in numerous pairs with the orthotics, a pair of Saucony Ride 7s are the ones for me. Sadly the shop didn't have any in stock so I've ordered a pair online - brilliantly for £20 cheaper. They'll be here within the week.

Lastly, a trip to my regular doctor for a routine matter. As I was there, I spoke to her about my headaches. Thankfully, they're not migraines or anything more sinister, it's as simple as stress and holding tension in my neck and shoulders. Turns out I need to relax a bit more. Who knew?

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.