BernardYoung

By BernardYoung

It's Not Yet Time To Leave But

This would be a good way to go,
a fine route to follow,
I think, as some of my unfinished lyrics
creep back into my head…

When I saw you
walk the line
I thought, that’s it
you’ll never be mine


I’m imagining myself, now,
gazing out of the carriage window
as the harbour disappears behind me
and the mountains that the track passes through
come into view…

When I saw you
cross the track
I thought, that’s it,
you’ll never come back


Oh yes, I’m enjoying this.
I can see myself sitting there

(I’ve got the train to myself, by the way,
there are no other passengers,
the driver’s tucked away up at the front
and there’s not even a guard)

so I don’t feel at all embarrassed
as I shout out those lyrics
and try to recall the amazing tune
that accompanies them…


One After 909

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.