My happy little life

By khoola

Mal

This is Mal, one of our builders. He's cutting up bricks, creating this fantastic cloud of dust. Mal is not wearing a face mask. Mal does not wear gloves. Mal does not wear a hard hat. Because Mal is a real man. Mal is about 50, and likes to think he's a grumpy old git. However, Mal shares my passion for Corrie, Emmerdale, and Loose Women (the programme, not actual women with questionable morals, well, not as far as I know...), so comes in every day for a chat about the plot spoilers that he's heard, and what we think Charity Dingle will get up to next. It bemuses Mal that none of his co-workers share his passion for soaps and daytime telly for middle aged women.

When the building work is finished, I won't miss the mess, or the noise, or the invasion of privacy. But I might miss Mal. Just a little bit.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.