The fool on the hill

By mooncoin

Nadir

After his Voigtlander my dad bought a Zenith E. As well as the 58mm Helios standard lens he also had a 135mm - Jupiter I think it was. I sort of inherited it after he died. Mainly because I was the oldest and had the greatest interest in photography I guess.
I remember my mum saying how it was a really expensive camera - and it probably was back then seeing as a decent Japanese SLR maybe cost a month's wages.
Anyway, I lost it. I left it on top of North Hill near Minehead in August 1978. I was so worried what my mum would say that I went to Dixons as soon as I got home and bought a replacement (I think they marketed them under the name Prinzflex) - I still told her though. She was pretty annoyed.
I was surprised to discover that the Dixons one was pretty crap compared with my dad's one. A plastic case instead of a leather one for a start. This is it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.