BlipTardy

By AKM3

“I stand holding the apple in both hands. It feels precious, like a heavy treasure ...”
Margaret Atwood

I love this paperweight - it does feel precious to hold. It belonged to my aunt and now me. I was dusting it on Saturday - a mundane task - and paused for a while to remember my aunt. She had an amazing laugh - raucous and infectious. She could also provide calm quiet moments where we would sit together with the occaisional conversation starting up. I loved her workroom that had a long shelf full of books that I worked my way through over long summers as a teenager - either lying on the couch in that room or in the hammock in the small apple orchard at the front of her house.

n.b. Blipped on Saturday - not posted until today.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.