Memories of the Hartley

You might like to see this LARGE

When I was a young man, journeying to teachers college, I did so by train. Invariably I would travel in passenger carriages with those wonderful old "verandahs" at each end - which must have dated from the 1890s at least. They were pulled by an authentic steam locomotive in active commercial service. Looking back, students must have attended teachers colleges and universities from/to country destinations by very similar means going back several generations. Boy am I OLD!!

Anyway, such carriages were invariably festooned with these fabulous black & white scenic photographs (mounted in lacquered natural timber panels) illustrating wondrous destinations that the ambitious traveller might aspire to visit. I think I remember one such image of the Hartley Valley which (to my fanciful recollection) resembled this one above - shot at 5:45 pm October 7, 2014.

Just for fun I have posted the COLOUR VERSION if you are interested.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.