Pictures & Woodwork.

By PeterB

A Little Stool/Chair in the making...Part 1

I have at last been able to get back into my workshop and have been cutting and shaping the wood for the Stool/Chair whichever you want to call it,
hence the reason you have not seen me on blip for a few days.

It makes a change to blip something different and now that I have started I will take you through it as I progress with it. More blips on this to come!!

The back rest is Red Pine (softwood) and the seat itself is Ash. (hardwood).
To see the grain of the wood try going Large on it.

As you can see I have shaped the edges of the backrest and the seat with a router.
All this is still in the 'Raw' state, meaning that I have not done any sanding on it yet, when I have done you will see the difference.
The pieces of wood that the seat and backrest are on is American Cherry(hardwood) which I shall put in my lathe and turn the legs to a design I have in mind.
Once the legs have been turned and before I put everything together permanently, I will sand the legs, seat and backrest, seal and polish.
It is the sanding that takes the time and I will not hurry that at all.
The smoother the surface the better the finish.

I mentioned in my last blip that we went to a wood working show last week and purchased a 'New Toy' for the workshop. it is an upgrade of a machine I have now but much, much more efficient. I am expecting it very shortly and when I have it I will do a blip on it.

Enjoy and take care.



Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.