Painkillers or chocolate??

Actually I'm sticking to the painkillers for now.

Thank you to everyone for your kind wishes yesterday, I was very touched. Surprisingly, my pic hit the spotlight too. It was a very long day and I'm glad it is over now. I have waited a long time for this knee op and I really hope it will make a huge difference. I wasn't due to go to the hospital until 4pm and I couldn't eat or drink during the day. This wasn't too much of a problem as I was feeling very nervous and couldn't have eaten anything anyway.

There was a lot of hanging about after I arrived interspersed with a lesson on how to walk with a stick and how to go up and down stairs. Then the moment arrived. Gown on and into the theatre. Needle in the hand and the oxygen mask coming towards my face and I was out like a light.

I awoke to find I'd caused a drama in the recovery room, the nurse told me and also the women in the bed next to me who saw it all. Apparently I was thrashing about and then I was violently sick...all over the nurse (I was mortified), I had to have a tube in my throat. I was oblivious to all this, I just had bad stomach pains from all the wretching and a sore throat. I was in pain and had to have morphine, then I felt sick again, but once I was back on the ward and had some tea and toast I felt better. I eventually arrived home at 11pm.

Today has been busy. I had to start the day by washing my vomitty hair...to quote a friend Oh what a luxury vomit free hair is I've hobbled about on my stick and struggled up and down stairs and I've had a stream of visitors which has been lovely. I've been given flowers and chocolates, but at the moment I prefer the painkillers.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.