Oh My Days!

By lovelupins17

Butter Cross

Been a busy day but during walking from the office, late afternoon, I had a call from a very lovely customer of ours (well they all are actually) and so walked off the main road so that we could hear each other. Paced up and down by the butter cross, market stall and stocks whilst talking and thought just how lovely they are and what a wonderful colour the trees are. Back of the trees is the river Aire.
Bingley was first given its market charter by King John in 1212 and I believe these were the last stocks used in Yorkshire - 1870 is supposedly the last date - naughty people!!! They've moved around Bingley being deconstructed and rebuilt and I do think they probably aren't shown off to their best with signs of past graffiti. I wonder how much that tree has seen????
Apologies for the annoying car bonnet - ahhhh thought I'd worked round the cars!!! :/

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.