A Suffolk Eye

By CroPage

Bullied into beauty

"Shape up or ship out" I said to these nerines.

"YESSUH!" they said.

I must confess, I do like nerines. I like their louche, cheerful colour, I like their lack of foliage, I like their joyous, unbridled appearance just when the world descends into michaelmas daisies and winter pansies.

And these ones were bargains.

I'd got them as 'free to good home' bulbs from outside a house that was replacing the front garden with a drive. So I rescued them. And I gave them a good pot and the right conditions - but were they grateful? Not one little bit!

Year after year of straggly leaves and not a single solitary bloom.

It was most dispiriting.

So in the end I gave them an ultimatum. I looked at them through narrowed eyes and snarled out of the corner of my mouth just like Humphrey Bogart "Flower next season - OR ELSE - schweethearts!"

And they've been flowering like mad ever since.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.