rachelsmarathon

By rachelsmarathon

Rant Alert.

No running but just home from a spinning class. I had forgotten how much I love spinning!! Crazy I know.

So brace yourself for my rant...

Today Wilf and I went swimming. I checked the timetable before setting off and it clearly says public swimming 9 - 12. As a confident swimmer I am more than happy to take Wilf in the main pool rather than the teaching pool. We arrive and the man at the desk seems unsure as to whether I can take Wilf in. I point out it is public swimming not lane swimming but he says to pay on the way out as he doesn't think I'll be allowed in. So we get changed etc I check with the life guard I can take Wilf in and he says of course. The pool is full of people swimming lengths but there are two designated lanes and a portion of the pool that is not lanes that the life guard directs us to. People are still using this area to swim lengths but we get in anyway. As a considerate person we keep to the side and generally out the way. We get several comments from swimmers that I shouldn't have my child in this pool, this is length swimming only etc... Wilf and I ignore them and carry on. After 45mins we've finished and get out, dressed etc. I approach the counter to pay and explain to a different cashier how unwelcome we had been made to feel on the way in. She promptly says 'we should have gone to the parent and toddler session'. Firstly this doesn't run on a Tuesday and secondly it is between 11:30 and 1pm when 95% of toddlers I know are eating lunch then napping. If they don't want children or non swimmers in the main pool they should say so on the timetable. Anyway they gave me a free swim (I think just to get rid of me!!) Anyone with a toddler fancy swimming in the main pool with us next Tuesday...we could start a revolution

Thankful I had a calming afternoon with Chantel and a long over due wonderful chat with very best friend before spinning this evening. :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.