Secret Places

I circumnavigated the floating bog today. With the onset of fall, the undergrowth has become a little thinner and the woods have become more penetrable. And there were no mosquitoes! I was hoping to find a safe(r) crossing point - but unfortunately there isn't one. I would very much like to get my dSLR across there one day (next summer?) and photograph the pitcher plants and the bog flowers in all their glory. It's an incredible ecosystem.

That's the floating bog off to the left, supporting (or supported by) all the larch trees (tameracks). The 'moat' goes all the way around and is surprisingly deep. The 'bridges' onto the bog are the fallen trees seen in the picture. Not a crossing to be attempted by the faint of heart.

Took a good shower when I got home as I'd brushed through a lot of undergrowth. The mosquitoes may be gone, but I'm not so sure about the ticks - one bit of nature that I could happily do without.

Polk County, Wisconsin

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.