Casting Aspersions

Right ....think I've calmed down enough to get this off my chest. Look away now if you dont want to be bored by full on rant:
As most of you know, bust up my finger about a month ago. Doctor who set it in cast at the outset insisted that it appeared to be healing appropriately, despite me pointing out that it looked very deviated when set and in two subsequent x rays. (he never actually saw the finger as it was covered in a splint when he set it initially...relied on x rays throughout).
Saw a different doctor day before holiday to Italy, who was incredulous and couldn't believe that it hadn't had surgery immediately! Told me it needed to be operated on in the next couple of days or it would be impossible due to the amount of time it had been left.
I politely explained that this was not possible as i would be abroad. 'So you're declining my recommendation of surgery?'
Too effin right I was! Did he really expect me to lose another holiday due to his department's utter incompetence...In retrospect I know it was a rash, short term decision but I was so pissed off, not really thinking straight.
So to cut a long story short, he told me to make an appt in 4 weeks time, after pointing out that the finger will remain deviated, could have probs with gripping etc..etc...
They couldnt even get the appt bit right, making it in 3 weeks rather than 4.
When I phoned to query this, i was told the doctor would be on call and wouldnt be available in the 4th week. I pointed out that the reaaranged appt might be too early for the bone to have completed healing process, so they changed it to 5 weeks time...meaning I've got this beast of a cast on until at least the end of October. What a complete and utter cock up!!!
So one handed blipping continues for the foreseeable future....never has that t shirt been more appropriate.
Ok ...sorry about that (and for inflicting the selfie on you). I'm aware that there are folk with much worse problems to wory about....but needed to vent my spleen about this irritating an unecessary issue...

music

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.