Cockenzie Power Station

Just over 28 years ago I started work for SSEB and on my first day reported to a working Cockenzie Power Station.

In 2010 I had occasion to go there again, as part of my current job as my present company has a facility on the site (leased from Scottish Power). I took a photograph having just started with Blipfoto.

Today I was back there, again with my present company. The demolition contractors have moved in after the power station shut down in March 2013. We were directed to park behind the station near the sea wall. This picture is of the Unit 3 and 4 chimney now that the ductwork from the boilers and the precipitators have been removed, being able to look into the back of the boiler house.

I doubt I will ever be there again as my company's lease with Scottish Power only has a year or so to run and a new facility is likely to built somewhere elsewhere in the locality before the next time I need to go there.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.