PhDlife

By PhDlife

A day of two halves - a life of two halves!

My morning involved doing a presentation at a Human Rights Tour in Ayrshire and my particular area was in the context of social care and the brokerage work we are doing. Sooo many interesting examples about the imbalance of power in relationships with professionals! This is something that irritates me greatly!
Later in the day I find myself getting info out to many of my friends about a wheelchair basketball development day. Building on the 'Guinness Model' as in the advert; this is happening in Dundee and I'm overwhelmed by the support from my friends. Doesn't seem that long ago since I was able to go skiing, canoeing, cycling and yet other times it feels like a lifetime ago. A life of two halves!
So we are all going to have great fun on the day playing sport together. I am so excited about it. A bunch of women with varying degrees of ability and disability playing wheelchair basketball together and connecting and reconnecting with each other in sport.
When sport is in your blood, it never leaves you and it has been something I have really missed. I don't play often enough as the opportunities are limited so just need to create our own. Bring it on!!

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.