Colin Parte

By ColinParte

Dispatches

It's a miserable day here in North Down, so thought I'd better take a look inside the house for something to blip.
I'm reading this book for the second time. First time round was waaaay back in the early '80s when I read everything I could find on the Vietnam War. This book stood head and shoulders above all the other books - and there were loads of them - and still does.
My fascination with the Vietnam War started with my dad bringing home copies of Time magazine in the early '70s. The pictures inside are what first made me consider becoming a photojournalist; something that sadly never happened.
Michael Herr's description of his experiences is almost poetic. Not entirely surprising, as he spent most of his time getting high while he was there. I'm enjoying the book even more, almost thirty years later, to the point where I'm looking forward to bed tonight to read another chapter or two. It's not often that a book will grip me in that way. Might break out my History Channel Vietnam War box set when it's finished it!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.