Life Savors

By osuzanna

Sycamore Copse

Many of our friends think that it is quite strange that my husband and I each take a camera and hundreds of photos when we travel. That’s the way we have always done it and it doesn’t seem strange to us at all. I suspect it won’t seem strange to any of you either. We do only have one 18-300 mm lens so for the last few trips I have rented an 18-200 lens and we just take those two lenses. We also only travel with carry-on luggage, even for two week trips, so we look to travel as light as possible.

My husband has become more interested in my Nikon 5100 to replace his 9 year old D50 and I have been interested in getting something a bit lighter and smaller. So in our long-range, strategic equipment planning, I decided to get a mirrorless camera with an 18-200 lens. I spent a fair amount of time researching this and with the help of the knowledgable folks at B&H, I decided on the Sony Alpha 6000.

It arrived today and I am quite excited. It took all afternoon to charge up the battery, so I got a late start this evening. I am quite happy with the weight and size. I didn’t get to do a lot because it was getting dark, but near the end of my walk, I took this photo of the sycamore trees in the park at ISO 2000. Have a look in LARGE. I love the white mottled bark on these trees, and so have taken photos of them in every season.

The camera didn’t come with a very comprehensive manual, so there will be quite a learning curve that will involve me trying to figure most of it out on my own. :-( I’ll keep you posted.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.