Keeping me posted

By Romay

Bamboo Birthday

My youngest son is celebrating his birthday today. I use the term celebrating very loosely..........
Unlike moi, he is not one for cake, sweets or anything alchofrolic! He wants the day to pass relatively unnoticed, is it a male thing I wonder, or action, reaction?
My Mum used to say make the most of your Birthday, allow yourself to be treated like a Queen for the day, 'cos if you don't it will pass like any other day. Wise words which I've taken on board, she made every one of our birthdays special and just didn't get enough for herself as she died suddenly at my age.

However I respect his philosophy on birthdays is different to mine and know that he will create his own birthday traditions and celebrations in the years to follow. He is off to Sweden to visit his girlfriend tomorrow!

All he requested was a Bamboo plant like this one and a vase, fortunately I managed to track some indoor bamboo by chance and got a rather contemporary looking vase that will look good empty.

Curly Bamboo is apparently lucky..........not telling him that as he doesn't believe in that kind of nonsense either!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.