Role Model...

I was taken aback today.

Cheryl Cole came up in conversation today at work. I believe she's having relationship issues. After the initial explanations of who Cheryl Cole actually is, a colleague told me that she thought that Cheryl Cole was a good role model for girls of today.

I was flabbergasted. I considered this person at least semi-sensible but I just couldn't understand how this conclusion was reached. It's one thing saying that young girls look up to Ms Cole as a role model, which in itself speaks volumes about how mediatized young people may be if that's the best role model that comes up, but to actually agree that she does make a good role model?!?!

I couldn't understand it. I'm welcome to explanations, but I think she sings songs (not badly, but not uniquely or outstandingly) she didn't write, that aren't terribly inspiring, she married a footballer and is a judge on an over-rated talent show. There's also the alleged or otherwise, racial assault issue from a couple of years back but all in all, not someone I would aspire to.

Is there not more inspiring role models for young girls? Ellen MacArthur? Do role models for girls even have to be female in this day and age?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.