Sandcastle Holidays

By Sandcastle

What a difference a day makes

The photograph is Dunsapie Loch which Prince Albert created for Queen Victoria, according to my sources.

But today 23 February 2010 was a day of glorious scenes as a friend and I took a walk round Edinburgh's volcanic plug which sits in the middle of parkland - Arthur's Seat and Holyrood Park. When I was a little girl we called it The Queen's Park and you used to have to slow down when sheep wandered over the roadway if you were driving along the Queen's Drive.

But there are mysteries:

What does it mean when the roadsigns say 'no commercial vehicles'?
Oh crikey I searched for the answer to this and found a lot of answers, not referenceable...

When did the sheep leave?
Answer - before 2000 source, but when exactly?

Who were the Innocents after whom the Innocent Path is named?
Answer

I'll never know all there is to know about my home city.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.