Tim Grey's Daily-ish Foto

By timgrey

DuoTone Cherry Blossoms

As I captured my Blipfoto for the day, I sort of felt like I was cheating, because just earlier this week I had captured the same subject (a cherry blossom tree, though not the exact same tree) from the same vantage point (my bike, though this time I did stop to take the photo). But as I crested a small climb before descending back toward Lake Washington near Seward Park in Seattle, I saw a cherry blossom tree like none I had seen before. Usually they have either white blossoms or pink blossoms, but this one had both.

Maybe this is a common occurrence, but I had never noticed it before, and naturally I had to capture a photo of it (well, several photos, actually). And this is one of the things I'm enjoying most about keeping a Blipfoto journal. It makes me more aware than usual about my surroundings, and has me keeping an eye out much more carefully about potential photos in the world around me. They're not always great photos, and sometimes they're quite bad from a strict photographic standpoint, but it has me paying attention more, and I'm enjoying that...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.