800 Blips

800 Blips. I never know how to shoot these celebratory blips. This one, I thought, should be on a piece of note paper. When we were both still working, we would write each other notes for the day on these slips. I cut them from a few reams of paper given to me by our yearbook company at school. I liked the image of the paper couple holding hands, and Tom and I would come up with little quotes, sayings, wise cracks to go along with the hand-holding couple. I still have a few hundred of Tom's saved for something.

We wrote those notes for most of the last 15 years of my teaching, a daily ritual that I really appreciated. It was part of the morning routine, writing that note, and then the reading of it at some random point of the day made the connection back to Tom.

I miss that.

Even though we're certainly closer now than ever, there was that ritual of the daily routine that makes up our lives that was important.

Now there's Blip…800 blips. I'm not even sure what my discussion about writing notes on a daily basis has to do with 800 blips. Nothing, I'm sure. Maybe it's that fact that we get tied into the ritual, the custom, the tradition of things. There's the connection.

Thanks for being with me for some of those 800.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.