... with one eye open.

By Chamaeleo

Oxford: Grey Heron in Christ Church Meadow

Spot the statuesque creature in large ("L").

After my project plans fell through (this time it was a closed library, not the wind...), I went to visit the "Oxford Gosling" (I must think of another name: O.G. seems both exactly right and no longer apt): it was a pretty patchy morning, but the white geese were still glowing in what light there was. I particularly liked this one [= original blip] of it staring straight at me looking rather confused or quizzical (or perhaps hungry...) and uploaded it as my blip for a couple of minutes... I changed to this heron after seeing O.G. up as a portrait pic. on blip... Please do take a look on Flickr as it goes much larger (full screen). I also got photos of O.G. having to scurry out of the way of a speeding (rowing) eight looking rather disgruntled. It was pottering around with its father today although its mother was rarely far away.

Others on Flickr (right from here).
Quizzical O.G.
Escaping the Eight (three shot sequence)
Curious young greylag
Autumn leaves

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.