Shelter Crags and Pike o'Blisco

One to be viewed large

I have been desperately in need of a dose of adrenaline so, encouraged by a couple of longish runs in recent weeks, I got a last minute entry to the Langdale Fell Race. I ran the race last year, although the photographer in me got the better of the fell racer and I ended up taking a lot of pictures. I put together a picture story of the event to try and give people a feel for what this sport of fell running is all about. I was quite determined today to keep the racing more to the fore, which was fine all the time we were in the clag, but when the cloud suddenly cleared from Shelter Crags (seen here) there was no way that the photographer in me could be suppressed.

Once I had that different head on it was hard to get my racing one back on. The underfoot conditions were very difficult today and the combination of greasy rock, tired legs and aching knees meant for some rather slow descending at the end - made worse by a tumble on the way down from the final summit of Pike o'Blisco (far right) which resulted in a dramatic looking wound to my shin. This is a tough race. It seems that a few people got in trouble today and rescue helicopters were in attendance. No news yet of the casualties.

We left Ilkley on a beautiful misty morning with a hint of clear skies but by the time we got to the Lakes we were driving through rain with the clag very low. It could have gone two ways. Ironically I'd probably have got around quicker if the weather had stayed closed in but we were lucky not to get any more rain and the post-race craic was enjoyed in warm sunshine. When I got home and looked at my leg the bleeding had continued and my trousers were soaked. I was also shocked to find that I'd acquired an extra knee on my right leg! I don't think I've had a bigger bump appear. Fortunately, the swelling is on the way down. My immediate thoughts are that perhaps I'm getting too old for these classic Lakeland races ... but I don't have too many doubts that I'll be on the start line again next year. That adrenaline is like nectar!

Hard to choose which shot to post but I think this one best captures the drama of the high fells today.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.