From the dark corner.....

By Rozwood1970

Edinburgh tears - I cried...

What a beautiful day it was for my last full one here in Edinburgh! We were going to Butterfly World today but yesterday early on I sent Baxter a text asking if it was possible to go to visit the Forth Bridge instead as in all these years, I'd never been there. So today, after I had wandered about in Princes Street Gardens for a while, I met up with Ann and Baxter at the west end of Princes Street and we wandered around the corner to catch the bus to South Queensferry.

I got really excited like a child as the bridges gradually came into view. To go from looking at other people's pictures and postcards for years, it felt wonderful to see the Forth Bridge in reality. The road bridge looked good too, but this fantastic unique structure was the one for me. I took so many pictures from every angle and have just spent ages trying to pick out one I liked best. Impossible really! I got plenty of shots of trains passing over the bridge and little boats passing underneath, but when we emerged after having our dinner in the Hawes Inn, it was the beauty of the South Queensferry Harbour and the bridge with the early evening sky which really caught me.

If Ann and Baxter hadn't been with me, I would have sat on the floor and cried. I loved it and felt that this was the perfect trip to end a magical week at a Mecca for photographers everywhere. Back to Brum tomorrow, but I'll be back in Edinburgh at the end of November. I find it so hard to leave as always, but will leave my heart here where it truly belongs.

Track? This song was written by the Rolling Stones in 1965 but they gave it away and it was initially made a hit by Marianne Faithful. Here is the Stones version - As Tears Go By

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.