Haikography

By JanBee

Take my lightening but don't steal my thunder

Where the flowers bloomed,
Break free from geegaw shackles,
Fly into the blue.


.... after going to the hairdressers to have some pink highlights done ...dashed up to London to meet up with Tash and her boyfriend Adam for some fun and culture!

We went to the Royal Academy to see the Dennis Hopper photographs... I have to say the exhibition exceeded my expectations, I was expecting his shots of other artists and personalities of the 60's, but I hadn't expected all his wonderful semi abstract photos of textures, light and shadows.... these were truly inspirational. It's only on for another week, so if you are in the vicinity I would urge you to go ... details here.

Next we met Mark after his rehearsal had finished and meandered our way across to Covent Garden ... stopping for drinks and food along the way and navigating our way through crowds of Zombies.....

The reason for going to Covent Garden was to see the new installation by Alex Chinneck called Take my Lightening but don't steal my Thunder.

This is an ingenious construction which shows a replica of the end portico with the roof breaking free and flying skywards. There are no apparent supports for the upper part of the structure which means it really does appear to float ... quite brilliant and awe inspiring.

Adam was involved with this project as well as Alex's other current project The melting House, which I blipped the other day .... isn't it great that London does this sort of thing ... bravo!

(still got about 500 photos to process for the bellydance event last Thursday .... one will be appearing on a blip near your soon (ish) ...!!)

edit: decided to change the image from front on view to sideways as it shows columns better ....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.