A Meandering Life...

By Skeena

Pre: Mono Monday : Emotions (part 1)

For those who need to post early you can post below or on the Forum.

#########################################################

Emotions (part 1).

On Tuesday I cleared my late father's flat. He kept everything from a very turbulent and complex life. I have many boxes and hard memories to confront and to sort through.

Something that I didn't expect was a small tinned lunch box full of letters written to him from his mother and step-father whilst he did his National Service during the Korean War.

He had a close relationship with his step-father which is evident from the letters. Whilst serving in Korea his step-father died and it took 2 months for him to get back home.

With the letters was the telegram he sent to his mother on arriving at Southampton on the troop ship Empire Trooper.

He would be home that evening. On the eve of his 20th birthday.


#########################################################

I will be out most of the day on Monday so please post your links below until I get my real Mono Monday posted tomorrow afternoon. I will then transfer all the links to that post.

Remember you can check what others have Blipped by just clicking on their name once they posted on my page.


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.