Mt. Denali - Up Close & Personal

Have a look at the metadata - no zoom on this one! The pilot did a 'fly-past' of Mt. Denali. I was seated by the window, right at the very back of the plane and literally had a 'bird's-eye' view. Anyone who knows me knows how much I love mountains and this was very exciting! I flew back to Fairbanks from Nome today.

Wikipedia says Mount McKinley, [native name Denali (Koyukon Athabaskan for "The High One", Dghelaayce’e in Ahtna)] is the highest mountain peak in North America, with a summit elevation of 20,237 feet (6,168 m) above sea level. At some 18,000 feet (5,500 m), the base-to-peak rise is considered the largest of any mountain situated entirely above sea level

Imagine you're at the very top!

I'm gobsmacked by the wonderful response to my image from yesterday, The Road Into Teller. Your comments blew me away and I'm pretty much taken aback by the interest that my little Alaska jaunt has created. I'm delighted that so many of you are coming along for the ride too! You're most welcome. It's currently sitting at No.3 on Spotlight, so you'll imagine how stoked I am about that!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.