Monomonday: Emotions

This is the third postcard I've blipped from a collection that originally belonged to my paternal grandparents.


It is one of three that my Grandad sent to my Nan in February 1906, while they were courting and both working in service in separate big houses in Bromley, Kent.

The rather mournful lyrics are from a popular song , published in 1893 written by one Clifton Bingham to music by Frederic Cowen.

Given the picture and the song's references to sorrow it seems rather incongruous that the message my Grandad wrote on the back read " From your bundle of trouble, Valentine's Day 1906". Not the most romantic of card choices, perhaps but I guess it was the more optimistic promise of a better life ahead of them that he was trying to get across!

Even more mysterious and ambiguous was his message on the first card in the series, containing the first verse of the song with a picture of an Edwardian lady with a lapdog with a biblical vision in the background:

"Don't you think you are afraid of me - because I am. NOT. Just to wish dear old Cissie many happy years with her bundle of trouble. AJ"

Makes me intrigued about their relationship:

"The past is a foreign country; they do things differently there. " LP Hartley - The GoBetween

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.