New Year, New Life

By jenpedler

A long-gone view

This is the view from my Nanna's house in Eastbourne, painted by one of her friends. It used to hang on her landing and you could look out of the window and see the same view across to the downs. Now the fields are full of houses.

Rain, rain, rain. I worked from home and didn't go out until my housing co-op AGM this evening by which time it was dark. But when I was looking at this picture it reminded me of a rainy childhood day in Eastbourne. We had been going for a picnic on the downs, all was packed and ready but the rain poured down and showed no sign of stopping. Nanna gathered together all the green carpets she could find and took them upstairs. We then followed, up on to the imaginary downs for our picnic.
(So this is not an entirely irrelevant blip...)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.