The best part of returning home

Traveling these days is a bit easier, as all of our elderly pets have now gone to heaven. Faye is the only pet in the household and she is blissfully low maintenance. I don't worry about our pet sitter dealing with a diabetic crisis, a collapsed dog, a dehydrated cat. She just needs her food and water bowls replenished and her box scooped.

But I really miss her when we travel. Each morning, I am sad to wake up and find that she is not there purring on top of me or James. In fact, I often dream that she is there.

She used to be a very timid cat. But now that she is the beloved one and only, she has come out of her shell. Instead of hiding when we return home, she runs right out to see us. She meows at us frequently (admonishing us for not showering her with more attention or for not taking a midday nap when she wants a warm body with which to cuddle). I think James liked her better when she was not so noisy. But I appreciate all that she has to say.

Yes, I am a crazy cat lady. I would have a house full of them if I didn't have such a logical and sane husband.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.