My Best Efforts - Year 3

By AMC

Raindrops.......

.......on the leaf of my Alchemilla mollis - also known as Lady's Mantle.

The name Alchemilla, comes from the Arabic 'alkemelych', alchemist, bestowed by olden writers because of the wonder-working powers of the plant.
Like many flowers, this plant was associated with the Virgin Mary in the Middle Ages. (hence the name Lady's not Ladies Mantle). Many believed that alchemical virtues lay in the subtle influence the rich foliage imparted to the dewdrops that lay within it's leaves, these dewdrops were used in many a mystic potion. In Sweden, an old authority states that if placed under the pillow at night, the herb will promote a good nights sleep. Luckily enough, I have never had to try this remedy - I usually sleep like a log!! My sympathy goes out to those who don't!!

In spite of the weather, I picked 9 tomatoes from the two outside plants my Son-in-law grew for me - they taste lovely and sweet - nothing like those from the supermarket.

It is not raining at the moment but the sky looks very ominous - just a solid blanket of cloud. Temperature is reading 52 Deg.F.

Whether you have sun or rain, have a good day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.