Insect graffiti...or fly-posting!

I didn't post a photograph yesterday as I was doing some last minute (typically) preparation for delivering the President's Lecture to Chesham & District Natural History Society. It was a special occasion to mark the 50th anniversary of the society, so I wanted the talk to be good. However, this morning I remembered I had taken some photos early in the day of some leaf mines - the patterns left by the larvae of various insects as they eat and develop within the leaves of a whole range of plants. In this case it is a primrose leaf that has been mined and, appropriately, it is a small fly Chromatomyia primulae that has produced its offspring here. If you are finding nature a bit boring in the approach to winter, remember there are still lots of plant galls and leaf mines to go looking for!

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.