Retirement

My employers, David and Marilyn, retired today. The partners from the offset print side of the business have bought them out and taken over our side of the company, which does all the large format printing. If it sounds complicated, it isn't. Our half bosses become our full bosses, er, no, that didn't work either.

Anyway, the bottom line is that for the past six months for the very first time in 25 or so years in the workforce, I have been working for someone who I like, respect and admire. It hasn't been easy. Since I started with them I have had to take a long hard look at my own work ethic and decide if I was up to the task of working to the same standard as the people I work with. I think I am and it is largely due to David keeping me in line. He has been a very hard man to work for but the past six months have been some of the best in my career to date. Up until September last year when I finished my apprenticeship I was seriously thinking of leaving the industry altogether. Thankfully David and Marilyn took me on and had faith in my abilities, even if they weren't immediately apparent.

Mark, our quote/install/print/mac/technical operator made up this card. In it are tributes from clients, wishing David and Marilyn well in their retirement. There were lots of them. The Big Chiefs staff, Vikki, Mark and myself each made comment on the back of the card.

The company held a farewell lunch for David and Marilyn today. When it was over, later this afternoon, Me, Vikki, Mark, David and Marilyn sat down together and had a few drinks. Just the Big Chiefers. We gave them our own going away gifts and had a good old gossip about past staff which made me laugh so much my cheeks hurt. It was great. I wish them well, whatever they decide to do from today onwards.

As of Monday we will be absorbed into the main company. Apparently things aren't going to change much for us though.

I am not worried.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.